

MEMBERS OF THE SEIMAS OF THE REPUBLIC OF LITHUANIA

Gedimino pr. 53, LT-01109 Vilnius, LITHUANIA

24th of April 2019

Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus Director-General World Health Organization Avenue Appia 20 CH-1211 Geneva 27 Switzerland

Dear Director-General Tedros,

On behalf of Members of the Parliament of the Republic of Lithuania, we would like to draw your attention to the fact that Taiwan is hindered from participating in the mechanisms, meetings and activities of the World Health Organization (WHO) and thereby unable to contribute to the international community.

Taiwan is located at a strategic node in the Indo-Pacific. It has a particularly high need for disease prevention, as people and goods are constantly entering and leaving Taiwan. However, due to political blockade, Taiwan has been excluded from participation in the World Health Assembly (WHA) in 2017 and 2018. Furthermore, its participation in the WHO technical meetings has also been restricted. Such gap in global health network has undoubtedly posed a threat to health security of all humankind.

Over the years, Taiwan has dedicated its utmost in global efforts to realize the WHO's vision that health is a fundamental human right. For instance, when the Ebola broke out again in 2018, Taiwan swiftly announced a donation of US\$1 million to WHO to help in the fight against the disease. Bringing Taiwan into the international disease prevention system will benefit many nations, and help WHO make its disease prevention efforts more effective. This is also consistent with the policy objectives of the EU and its Member States, and serves the interests of all parties concerned. It is unfair that the 23 million people of Taiwan are denied the basic right of health as enjoyed by the rest of the world. Alongside with parliamentarians from other countries we therefore underline the importance of facilitating Taiwan's participation in the upcoming 72nd WHA in May 2019. Your principle response to the issues raised in this letter will be highly appreciated.

Members of Parliament (INTARA STERNAVICEUS, Adomèra Mautas Lournes Kasziero Monen REIDTIN 1,946 Anoth andine Austlie Muttle MYKOLPS MAJAUSKAB Hankin Toudargos . 1.14 SIMONAS GENJVILAS 5: Inspide Strucyle Nakwys Frank fire Maldobie un Al Televel Eugenijus Geretvilas Christo Miels Vitorata Edmundas Kupins 2 Mon Letu

2

Jeeka Haase J. Fallte Andrius Navichas flacme Junfis Bildaite A Hani leverester Northeeric ytandan (mozapa) Tapir Hene Hume offection fee Sahalleni Sall Junuliansto Artinas Stania 2 de 11e proville. Sortin: ekces Roberton KRE! YY DAINIUS Row mundas thankshich's Rodule Mortunioise - alentenary Guada Bues leie ai VAVOERANSHAS GUNTADAS Rimante Saladers aute GEDIMINAS VASILIAUSEAS Dalit FONAS VARKALYS Jorais Jergejup Enout inper Broninlamon Moitplik Antanas Mahulas Ona Valie kerré euté Audra > Rurarowis Wyen's prevz oua Keins us nos Baublas Farys Starlosicini Righting Allero Tomes Bruilinces

souter Marste mis Bullys Rata Militi Miller Virgin for Minghear Havines widzei per baining Keprud d'an'galys fueras Restartis Margeleo Gintantes Ronde 27 Han Daiming Lailand Jones Jaretis 1 Hours Kullert Bim Andrys Petros Delinino DAM Hendijus Very Alfredes Maniedo Ofteenfor Lastanes - Paleò Andhiojus Stonoitus Naglis Kitellis etras Georgelis Linal Suchdet Xac rish fund fe Justas Dzingelis Cobulus Candsky Gill

SR. Seclos Stary Seelbora, Rimæades Joaces Dags hene Deputiene Rage My,